Just breathe

I don’t have any words this week. Except to say that when the world becomes too much for me, I like to escape into created worlds. Those of film, television and books. I can also easily lose myself in my photography, so today I’ve taken photographs from my recent trip to the Canadian Rockies and put them with inspirational words from artists whose creative works I’ve loved, at one time or another. If I could, I would head out into the wilderness right now – without a television, without a phone, without any access to news – and just breathe.

Emerald Lake, Yoho National Park

“Keep close to Nature’s heart … and break clear away, once in a while, and climb a mountain or spend a week in the woods. Wash your spirit clean.” ~ John Muir

Johnston Canyon, Banff National Park

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” ~ J.R.R. Tolkien

Lake Minnewanka, Banff National Park

“There is no envy, jealousy, or hatred between the different colors of the rainbow. And no fear either. Because each one exists to make the others’ love more beautiful.” ~ Aberjhani

Mt Edith Cavell, Jasper National Park

“And still it was gone. Seeing it again could not be living it again. You can always rediscover an old path and wander over it, but the best you can do then is say, ‘Ah, yes, know this turning!’ – or remind yourself that, while you remember that unforgettable valley, the valley no longer remembers you.” ~ Beryl Markham

Athabasca Falls, Jasper National Park

“Water is the driving force of all nature.” ~ Leonardo da Vinci

Moraine Lake, Banff National Park

“No matter how sophisticated you may be, a large granite mountain cannot be denied – it speaks in silence to the very core of your being.” ~ Ansel Adams

Mount Rundle reflecting on Vermilion Lakes, Banff

“After climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb.” ~ Nelson Mandela

Emerald Lake, Yoho National Park

“For I have learned to look on nature, not as in the hour of thoughtless youth; but hearing oftentimes the still, sad music of humanity.” ~ William Wordsworth

Johnston Canyon, Banff National Park

“Do not feel sad for your tears as rocks never regret the waterfalls.” ~ Munia Khan

Peyto Lake, Icefields Parkway, Canadian Rockies

“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.” ~ Henry David Thoreau

Scenery from Icefields Parkway, Canadian Rockies

“Today is your day! Your mountain is waiting. So… get on your way.” ~ Dr. Seuss

Bow Lake, Banff National Park

“The best remedy for those who are afraid, lonely or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere where they can be quite alone with the heavens, nature and God. Because only then does one feel that all is as it should be and that God wishes to see people happy, amidst the simple beauty of nature. As longs as this exists, and it certainly always will, I know that then there will always be comfort for every sorrow, whatever the circumstances may be. And I firmly believe that nature brings solace in all troubles.” ~ Anne Frank

4 thoughts on “Just breathe

Leave a Reply

