Memorable travel moments: Staircase to the Moon

“Tell me the story..
About how the sun loved the moon so much..
That she died every night..
Just to let him breathe…”
Hanako Ishii

As the sun touches the Indian Ocean, a camel train meanders along the beach. I ready my camera, preparing for the perfect shot – camels in silhouette – the quintessential image of Broome in northwest Western Australia.

A short time later, I join the crowds gathered at Roebuck Bay to watch the Staircase to the Moon. This natural phenomenon occurs three nights of every month from March to October – the full moon rises over the exposed mudflats of Roebuck Bay at extremely low tide, which creates the optical illusion of a staircase reaching for the moon.

Broome was founded as a pearling port in 1883, and is situated between the desert and the Indian Ocean. It’s a tropical oasis for travellers wanting to get off the beaten track, and my visit was the halfway mark of a four-wheel drive tour from Perth to Darwin (including crossing the remote and spectacular Kimberley region).

I was in Broome at the perfect time, and it was pure luck. I’d never heard about the Staircase to the Moon and I was far more concerned about getting photos of the camels at sunset on Cable Beach. But both were amazing!

I’ve never seen another moonrise to surpasses this one, and doubt I ever will.

For more information about Broome’s Staircase to the Moon, click here.

 

4 thoughts on “Memorable travel moments: Staircase to the Moon

  1. Great photos! I’ve been to Broome many times but am yet to see the staircase to the moon. I’m guessing you visited Broome sometime last winter despite the date on your post? I hope to return to Broome this winter and will try and time it to catch this phenomenon, finally…

Leave a Reply

