Memorable travel moments: Black Rhinoceros

“The only way to save a rhinoceros is to save the environment in which it lives, because there’s a mutual dependency between it and millions of other species of both animals and plants.” David Attenborough

For the last couple of months I’ve been struggling to write. Fortunately, this has given me the extra time to de-clutter my life and, as a result, I’ve inadvertently re-discovered old books; random scribblings on paper and cards; and so many pre-digital photographs.

In particular, the photographic prints bring back so many memories. It’s not that I’ve forgotten them; it’s just that, these days, I rarely look at old photographs.

And while those memories remain tucked away in my heart, I’ve decided to share them on my blog. I think this might also be the inspiration I need to get writing again. After all, photography was always my first love …

Black rhinoceros in the Ngorongoro Crater

The Ngorongoro Crater is a large volcanic caldera within the Ngorongoro Conservation Area in Tanzania. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the most spectacular places I visited in Africa, because of the abundance of wildlife there.

One of the most memorable moments was seeing this black rhinoceros. When one of our vehicles got too close, she reared angrily; disturbed from her slumber. It was only then we realised she was protecting a calf and, for a brief, exhilarating moment, we thought she might charge. Instead, she glared at us – for what seemed a lifetime – and then, with the threat dissipated, she settled herself back into the long grass.

It was such an exciting moment – seeing this beautiful and endangered animal in the wild – and it’s one I’ll never forget.

2 thoughts on “Memorable travel moments: Black Rhinoceros

  1. What a wonderful experience – so glad you shared the experience. Know what you mean though re writing – I’ve totally lost my mojo but doing my best to share our latest adventures.

Leave a Reply

