One hundred travel experiences

“Our moments of inspiration are not lost though we have no particular poem to show for them; for those experiences have left an indelible impression, and we are ever and anon reminded of them.”
Henry David Thoreau

This is my 100th blog so I’ve decided to celebrate by sharing 100 travel experiences through my photographs. When I think about my travels I think of all the wonderful people I’ve met, the amazing places I’ve seen, and all the fun things I’ve done – many outside my comfort zone.

Travel has broadened my horizons, opened my eyes to other cultures and beliefs, and has taught me tolerance, acceptance and adaptability. In the words of Mark Twain: “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness.”

I feel so lucky to have all these memories … as well as many, many more!

This is not an exhaustive list, particularly because some experiences just can’t be photographed. There’s the incredible hospitality I’ve been shown by complete strangers and friends of friends. There are like-minded people I’ve met while volunteering in Ireland, Croatia and Australia. There are the children I’ve met at summer camp in Massachusetts. I taught them photography and they taught me about smores – toasted marshmallows and Herseys chocolate bars squished between two Graham Crackers.

I’ve been to some wonderful shows on Broadway and in the West End. I’ve swum across a river, knowing there were freshwater crocodiles downstream, so I could hike to a beautiful waterfall. I’ve gone snorkelling at amazing locations such as the Great Barrier Reef, Coral Bay and the Galapagos Islands – including the one time I swam alongside a marine iguana. It almost frightened me to death.

There are also some memories that are now bitter-sweet, such as going to the 110th floor of the South Tower of the World Trade Center in New York in 1985. I can still remember being overwhelmed by how high up I was, looking down at tiny yellow taxis on the ground and thinking how they looked like ants. This gives me chills whenever I think about it now.

I’ve been in Canada for Thanksgiving and Halloween, Sweden for Midsummer, Munich for Oktoberfest, New Orleans for the Decadence Parade and Penang for the Kavadi Festival. I was in Rome when terrorists (with explosives) were arrested at the Spanish Steps. I was in Santiago when the Chilean students marched for education reforms. I was in Germany in 1985 before the Berlin Wall came down, and again in 1993 when I visited Berlin.

I’ve gazed at stars from underneath a mosquito net in Africa and from a swag in Australia. I’ve seen the full moon rise over the mudflats in Broome – the incredible ‘Stairway to the Moon’. I’ve seen so many spectacular sunrises and sunsets. And the list goes on …

Thanks for reading my blog. I appreciate every comment.

I hope you enjoy these photographs, even though this 100th blog is a bit of pure indulgence on my part 🙂

6 thoughts on “One hundred travel experiences

    • Yes, it was a lot of fun… but I kept thinking of more things I could add in. I also don’t have a lot of the early stuff in digital form. It’s great that I got to share a lot of those moments with you 🙂

  1. What an inspiring life. I have a lot of catching up to do.
    Travel can have such an impact on the person you are. It definitely opens your eyes and if you let it, can impact you positively forever. I never want to stop traveling. I hope one day I’ll have just as many amazing photos and memories as you xo

Leave a Reply

