African sunsets

Matopos Hills, Zimbabwe

Matopos Hills, Zimbabwe

As the sun drops lower in the sky, I gaze out the window of the overland truck, trying to commit everything to memory. It’s my second-last day in Africa and I really don’t want this moment to end. Nor do I want my travels in Africa to be over.

The landscape surrounding us is mostly rural; cornfields stretch to the horizon, there’s a spattering of acacia trees and a couple of ramshackle huts. It’s not a particularly remarkable sight…

…but, there’s this golden light slowly working its magic… transforming that mundane scene into something truly breathtaking… changing its hue, getting progressively darker. It’s another masterpiece by nature.

Of course, sunsets and sunrises are always beautiful, no matter where they occur. But, what can I say, photographers notice the light and, for me, Africa owns the world’s best sunsets!

Here are some of my favourite photographs.

Chobe River, Botswana

Chobe River, Botswana

Lake Malawi, Malawi

Lake Malawi, Malawi

Lake Malawi, Malawi

Lake Malawi, Malawi

Lake Malawi, Malawi

Lake Malawi, Malawi

Lake Kariba, Zimbabwe

Lake Kariba, Zimbabwe

Lake Kariba, Zimbabwe

Lake Kariba, Zimbabwe

Serengeti National Park, Tanzania

Serengeti National Park, Tanzania

4 thoughts on “African sunsets

    • Thanks for your comment. I have also seen wonderful sunsets in other places around the world, but I think the African skies impacted on me the most. I guess it helps when you’re camping for three months… because you always see plenty of sunsets and sunrises when you’re living in a tent 🙂

Leave a Reply

